Become the Student: Examining the Value of Asynchronous Instruction

Date: March 23, 2022
Location: Online
Webinars
[Image description: White text on green background reads, Become the Student: Examining the Value of Asynchronous Instruction, Wednesday, March 23, 2022 at 3 pm PT, 4 pm MT, 5 pm CT, 6 pm ET. Website for more details: ncwit.org/BPCSEduWebinars.]

NCWIT and Infosys Foundation USA invite you to join us for a conversation with Sanjitha Prabakaran, an NCWIT Aspirations in Computing (AiC) Community member and AspireIT Impact Award recipient, discussing how to utilize asynchronous demonstration for computing programs and other CS learning experiences. 

In this webinar, we will be discussing the various elements that go into this type of instruction, including how to organize materials, how to prepare for each lesson, and other tips to ensure hands-on engagement in an asynchronous format. 

We recommend reviewing the sample asynchronous demonstration prior to this webinar. In this recording, Sanjitha walks through some of the asynchronous materials that they offer to participants and demonstrates a lesson plan utilizing basic JavaScript to create a fun meme, and we will be referencing this recording throughout the session. 

By the end of this webinar, you will have the guidance you need to utilize asynchronous instruction for computing programs and other CS experiences in your community.

Broadening Participation in Computer Science (CS) Education is a six-part webinar series that addresses the importance of increasing girls’ and women’s meaningful and influential participation in tech innovation and development each month. The series is free and open to the public — geared towards K-12 formal and informal educators, and high school and college students.

The webinar series is being funded by the Infosys Foundation USA and is being offered through its Pathfinders Online Institute, a free digital learning platform that offers high-quality computer science and maker education resources for educators and students across the U.S.

Scroll to Top