Broadening Participation in Computer Science (CS) Education

Broadening Participation in Computer Science (CS) Education is a six-part webinar series that addresses the importance of increasing girls’ and women’s meaningful and influential participation in tech innovation and development each month. The series is free and open to the public — geared towards K-12 formal and informal educators, and high school and college students.

The webinar series is being funded by the Infosys Foundation USA and is being offered through its Pathfinders Online Institute, a free digital learning platform that offers high-quality computer science and maker education resources for educators and students across the U.S.

Upcoming Webinar

Broadening Participation in the Classroom: A Discussion with NCWIT National Educator Award Recipients

December 8, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. CT / 4:00 p.m. MT / 3:00 p.m. PT

NCWIT and Infosys Foundation USA invite you to join us for a panel discussion with National Aspirations in Computing Educator award recipients, who support the computing-related passions of 9th-12th grade women, genderqueer, or non-binary students. Gain inspiration for the coming semester as you listen and engage with these exceptional educators. Panelists will discuss the value of promoting gender equity in computing and the tactics they have used to broaden the participation of students who are Black, Indigenous, or People of Color (BIPOC) in computing and technology. By the end of this session, you will be able to implement strategies to get other faculty and students interested in broadening the participation of girls, women, and other underrepresented populations in computing.

Photo of Teacher Helping Student in Classroom

How to Register

In order to register for the webinar, you will be required to create an account on the Infosys Foundation USA’s free digital learning platform – the Pathfinders Online Institute. Please find steps for creating an account below:
  1. *Click “Access Free CS & Maker ED Resources.”
  2. Click “Create New Account.” (If you are an existing user, please login using your username & password.)
  3. Enter user information and select password. Click “Create New Account.”
  4. Check your email for a verification email from “Wingspan.” Click on the email verification link.
  5. Once your email is verified, login using your account credentials and register for the webinar.

Previous Webinars

Building Partnerships with School Counselors and Librarians

November 9, 2021 at 4:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. CT / 2:00 p.m. MT / 1:00 p.m. PT

NCWIT and Infosys Foundation USA invite you to join us for a panel discussion with members of the NCWIT Counselors for Computing (C4C) program, where they will provide information and resources that help counselors, librarians, and other educators join the front line of the computing conversation. Listen in as counselors and librarians discuss what they are doing to bring programs together with professional development, knowledge, and resources to give all students access to transformative computing careers. By the end of this session, you will have learned how to better work with counselors and librarians to become a change leader for implementing computer science and gain the knowledge to educate parents, spark creativity in students, and illuminate a future they may have never considered.

Inspired by Youth: A Discussion With High School and College Students Who Build Local CS Communities

October 11, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. CT / 4:00 p.m. MT / 3:00 p.m. PT
NCWIT and Infosys Foundation USA invite you to join a panel discussion with several 2021 NCWIT AspireIT Impact Award recipients. The AspireIT Impact Award honors 30 women, genderqueer, or non-binary individuals for their incredible work to ultimately encourage K-16 girls to contribute their unique perspectives and ideas to future innovations. Listen in as these award recipients discuss how they build and creatively offer hands-on learning opportunities in computing and career exploration, and how they bring together advocates and allies of various backgrounds through computing-related events and community groups. By the end of this session, you will be inspired and equipped to encourage and offer students with historically marginalized identities ways to partake in peer and near-peer mentorship, connect with other technical women, and to participate in local computing career pathways and opportunities.
Scroll to Top