Advising for Future-Ready Careers

Date: June 16, 2021

Webinars

C4C Advising Page Banner

Advising for Future-Ready Careers is a monthly webinar series, hosted by NCWIT Counselors for Computing (C4C), providing information and resources to help counselors join the front line of the computing conversation. This webinar series is free and open to the public, ages 16 and up – geared toward School Counselors, Educators, graduate students, and those in school advising roles.

Advising for Future-Ready Careers is funded by the Department of Defense STEM (DoD STEM) seeking to attract, inspire, and develop exceptional STEM talent across the educational continuum.

Episode 5: Ethics & Computing
Ethics in computing is a practical philosophy concerned with how computing professionals should make decisions regarding professional and social conduct. How does a self-driving car decide which direction to veer with the conundrum of hitting a mailbox versus hitting a pedestrian? Does facial recognition identify all types of facial features and skin colors? Can a crime algorithm predict whether a first-time offender will break the law again? Ethics in computing forces us to consider important questions like how an algorithm, artificial intelligence, or piece of technology may impact all of us. Join NCWIT Counselors for Computing as we discuss the ever-growing field of Ethics in Computing with Jess Smith, a machine learning and AI ethics PhD Student at the University of Colorado.

Register* for a one-hour session, each occurring on Wednesday, June 16, 2021:

  • Register for 6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT/4:00 p.m. MT/3:00 p.m. PT
  • Register for 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT/5:00 p.m. MT/4:00 p.m. PT
  • Register for 8:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. CT/6:00 p.m. MT/5:00 p.m. PT 

*The first 150 counselors, grad students, and others in an educational advisory role to register are eligible to receive a $50 gift card and C4C Resource Kit after attending and completing a short survey. YOU MUST USE A SCHOOL-BASED EMAIL ADDRESS TO RECEIVE THE GIFT CARD. ALL participants receive a FREE resource kit.

Scroll to Top