Joanne McGrath Cohoon Service Award

The NCWIT Joanne McGrath Cohoon Service Award honors distinguished educators and staff who have effectively challenged and changed the systems that shape the experiences of women undergraduates in postsecondary computing programs. Winning nominees demonstrate exceptional commitment to and success in creating long-lasting systemic change that improves the environment for all students who identify as women. The award is given in memory of Dr. Cohoon’s outstanding research and advocacy work to broaden and enrich women’s participation in computing.

The Joanne McGrath Cohoon Award is sponsored by AT&T.

Congratulations to 2022 NCWIT Joanne McGrath Cohoon Service Award Recipient Dr. Christine Alvarado 

NCWIT is proud to announce that the recipient of the 2022 Joanne McGrath Cohoon Service Award is Dr. Christine Alvarado. Dr. Alvarado is Associate Dean for Students of the Jacobs School of Engineering and Teaching Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of California, San Diego.

Learn more about Dr. Alvarado’s work in this blog post.

Additional Information

To join the NCWIT Academic Alliance, simply complete this Academic Alliance Membership Form to be sent further details regarding membership. Please direct any questions to

Scroll to Top