Previous Joanne McGrath Cohoon Service Award Winners

The NCWIT Joanne McGrath Cohoon Service Award honors distinguished educators and staff who have effectively challenged and changed the systems that shape the experiences of women undergraduates in postsecondary computing programs. Winning nominees demonstrate exceptional commitment to and success in creating long-lasting systemic change that improves the environment for students who identify as women, with attention to practices or interventions that advance the diversity, equity, and inclusion of women from historically excluded groups. The award is given in memory of Dr. Cohoon’s outstanding research and advocacy work to broaden and enrich women’s participation in computing.

The Joanne McGrath Cohoon Award is sponsored by AT&T.

The recipient of the 2022 Joanne McGrath Cohoon Service Award is Dr. Christine Alvarado. Dr. Alvarado is Associate Dean for Students of the Jacobs School of Engineering and Teaching Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of California, San Diego.

Learn more about Dr. Alvarado’s work in this blog post. View a press release about the 2022 Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award and the Joanne McGrath Cohoon Service Award here.

Scroll to Top